For Release: 08/17/2015

Emergency Responders Receive Safety Grants from Wisconsin Public Service Foundation

Green Bay, WI - The Wisconsin Public Service Foundation has awarded $50,000 to area first responders as part of the Foundation's Safety: It's Worth The Energy grant opportunity. This is the second year the grant has been offered and more than 75 area first response agencies applied for funding. Those selected to receive up to a $2,000 grant may use it to purchase equipment, provide professional development, and should be part of a well-planned integrated public safety initiative.

2015 recipient organizations are:

Green Bay area: Denmark Fire Department, Ephraim Fire Department, Friends of the New Franken Fire Dept. LLC, Gibraltar Fire Rescue, Hobart Fire Department, Montpelier First Responders and Sturgeon Bay Fire Department

Central WI area: Marathon County Sheriff's Department, Merrill Fire Department, Mosinee Fire District, Ringle Fire Department, South Area Fire & Emergency Response District, and Town of Antigo Volunteer Fire Department

Lakeshore area: Maribel Fire Department, New Holstein Police Department, Oshkosh Fire Department and Valders Fire Department

Northern area: Marinette Emergency Rescue Squad, Inc., Little Rice Fire Department, Menominee Police Department, Newbold Fire Department, Oconto Fire-Rescue Department, Plum Lake Ambulance Service, Sugar Camp Fire Department, Town of Brazeau Fire Department, Town of Doty Fire Department, Town of Lac du Flambeau Fire and Ambulance Department, and Woodruff Fire Department

"Anytime we can help those who put their lives on the line in the most dangerous of emergency conditions, we should," said Karmen Lemke, Director-Wisconsin Public Service Foundation. "We are so fortunate to have such dedicated first responders in the communities we serve and are glad to help any way we can."

About the Wisconsin Public Service Foundation

The Wisconsin Public Service Foundation is a private, charitable foundation funded by company shareholders and has no impact on electric and natural gas rates charged to customers. The Foundation is now in its 51st year of helping communities and organizations accomplish their goals of improving everyone's quality of life. Contributions are made in the following areas: Arts and Culture, Community and Neighborhood Development, Education, Human Services and Health, and Environment.

For More Information, Contact:

  • Karmen Lemke
    Director-Wisconsin Public Service Foundation
  • Lynn Kroll
    Green Bay, Kewaunee, Door County
  • Jenny Short
    Marinette, Menominee, Crivitz, Wabeno, Wausaukee
  • Leah Van Zile
    Rhinelander, Tomahawk, Minocqua, Eagle River
  • Kelly Zagrzebski
    Wausau, Merrill, Stevens Point, Antigo
  • Dallas Bennett
    Oshkosh, Chilton, Sheboygan, Two Rivers/Manitowoc
  • Media Hotline

WEC Energy Group